Shloka Shankar

Yellow Smoke

To write is to soak
into the pores.

A matter of imagination,
or rain that is stirred
without cessation.

I have found that a pen
is worthless sometimes –

like yellow smoke,
or a clean knife.
[Source: A remixed poem re-purposed from Chapter Two of The Invention of Lithography, by Alois Senefelder (1911).]


Small Talk

A brick wall had been
erected between us, and I
began looking for miniscule ways
to start chipping off at the layers.
I imagined what the wallpaper
would look like; flowers in spring?
a splattering of red? cranes and turtles?

It didn’t matter.
At least, not yet.

You slid beside me
in bed and we awkwardly
laid there for several minutes —
words refusing to unstick themselves
from the roof of my mouth.

We made small talk that inched
into the night and I laughed
my old laugh — the kind
when I’m with you.

I asked you the questions
on my usual checklist – and you
answered them for the millionth time;

that was all that mattered.


Serendipity

It’s hard to be understood.
You know what I mean?
Of course you don’t.
You’re just a writer.

You know what I mean?
The darkest secret is no longer dark.
You’re just a writer.
A bubble bursts in the universe.

The darkest secret is no longer dark.
Of course you don’t.
A bubble bursts in the universe.
It’s hard to be understood.


shShloka Shankar is a freelance writer from India. She loves experimenting with all forms of the written word and has found her niche in Japanese short-forms and found poetry. Some of her poems have recently appeared in Silver Birch Press, Eunoia Review, The Rain, Party, & Disaster Society, Five 2 One Magazine, Oddball Magazine, and Of/with. She is also the founding editor of the literary & arts journal, Sonic Boom.

Leave a Reply

